Home.

Screen shot 2013-09-17 at 16.41.37

“Home”.

I always say, having moved around so much, that I’m not sure where “home” is. That’s still my answer whenever someone challenges me to choose the one place, from all that I’ve loved, to call “home”.

But really, it’s always going to be the place where I grew up, where the happy memories are, and where my childhood lies. Where I head to when I begin to feel lost.

Vancouver.

The above is what’s NOT going to happen tomorrow…but what might happen when I return, especially since I’ll be taking a detour to my other “home”, New York.

I’ve looked forward to this trip for so long, but all that I can see and want is not the food, nor the shopping, nor the places I want to (re)visit. All I picture is taking a deep breath the minute I set foot outside YVR. It’s the fresh air and parks and ocean that is the biggest draw on this trip, and what I’ve been missing and craving. (Not to say that I won’t be over-eating and stocking up on North American goodness…)

Off I go. I can hardly wait.

Photo: London, 2010.
Leave a Reply

