Week [0913].

Screen shot 2013-09-13 at 17.06.24

 

Friday the 13th. 

Save for a flash thunderstorm that has parts of Shanghai flooding, there has been no other notable  unluckiness today. Yet. (As I type this, thunder ROARED.) Fingers crossed. 

Aside from being inundated by NYFW updates this week, I haven’t forgotten about other memorable events. Even if it’s a bad one. Twelve years ago this past Wednesday the 11th, I dashed out of Advertising class to take a call from my mom to let me know that my sister, who worked in Manhattan then, called to say she was okay. I got in trouble for running out of class so abruptly but it was a sprint that couldn’t be fast enough. Then at lunch time we all huddled around the TV at the student centre to watch the horrendous events unfold. We don’t, and won’t, forget. 

It’s funny how anticipation works. Overdo it and the excitement might just pass you by before the event actually occurs. I hope this isn’t what’s happening with my trip that begins next Wednesday! As usual it’s the rush to get everything before going on leave and making sure all loose ends are tied and packing and meetings and more packing and gift shopping and goodbye-for-now brunches and…yes. Deep down inside I’m jumping up and down…and wondering if it’s strange that I’m just looking forward to even the flight itself.  

In the meantime…

Cutest hair accessories

A Corbusier-inspired home. Bonus: It’s in Paris!

Esprit Dior on exhibit in our very own MoCA Shanghai. 

If famous writers had Instagram.

Then Man Booker Prize shortlist has been announced.  

Have a lucky weekend!

Photo: Vancouver, 2012.
Leave a Reply

