Dec the Halls.

Screen shot 2013-05-22 at 14.00.50

I’ve been at this blogging thing for a few months now, but it’s funny how, of all things that I’ve discussed, I rarely talk about the one thing that I love the most.

Interiors.

I have probably avoided writing about it so to selfishly avoid a bout of envy. But today I came across these two items that I MUST somehow add to my space.

How adorable is the above bookend? Balloons and books, ticking off two of my favourite things. As someone who can spend hours obsessing over styling a vignette, I could just easily pop this little guy in the corner, or among my hardcovers, and call it a day (for now).

(Additionally, this makes me want to be in New York for Frieze to see Paul McCarthy’s “Balloon Dog”.)

Harriet-Anstruther-A-bright-and-modern-1840s-London-town-house-4

Those who know me know that I have an affinity toward all things Penguin Books. Let’s discuss their publishing repertoire another time, but their design aesthetic is unbeatable. Classic yet modern, all in one. I had interned there during my time in London, and while in the end magazines still stole my heart, I still have very fond memories of working in the children’s department at the glorious Pearson office on the Strand (with the best view over the Thames, I might add.). I don’t give up hope that one day, in one way or another, that I will work with Penguin again in some capacity.

I digress.

This London town house, designed by Harriet Anstruther, could quite possibly be my dream home. The details, the fixtures, the space and light – go here to see the most amazing pop of neon pink in the form of a bar, and other clever accents. And of course, that coveted painting above the fireplace…

A girl can dream.

Images: Burke Decor,  Cosas de Palmichula.
Leave a Reply

