Shelflife: Lit Parade.

Screen shot 2013-01-31 at 15.01.03

Of all the events in Shanghai, hands down my favourite one is the Shanghai International Literary Festival.

My love for the event began when I was an editor at an entertainment magazine. We would receive stacks of book to review, dates for author interviews, and the roster of talent to introduce to our readers. Our almighty all-access event passes equalled live blogging at each session at the gorgeous Glamour Bar on the Bund. This experience remains a highlight of my editorial career, and it is because of this event that one of my most favorite sounds of Shanghai is now the chime of the Customs House clock.

Over the years I have attended sessions from Gore Vidal, Zadie Smith, Lynn Pan, Nuri Vitacchi, Graham Earnshaw and many more. I still follow Anne Enright’s soft-spoken advice today – “Just sit down and write.” Otherwise it will never get written.

Last year was my first time attending SILF simply as a patron, and I still had a great time hearing about the science of building supertalls from Gensler, and Amy Tan’s candid talk about her life and work. It’s always so nice to be among the like-minded crowd and to feel that camaraderie of the community and love for the art, all out here in China.

I’m off to Europe next week, but it’s nice to have something like the Lit Fest to look forward to coming back to.

Have a cozy weekend!

Photo: Shanghai, 2012.
2 thoughts on “Shelflife: Lit Parade.

Leave a Reply

